//La Lux Beauty// GOING TO BEAUTY SCHOOL…

I’ve been obsessed with make up for pretty much as long as I can remember.

Make Up Course Beauty Life College
Make Up Course Beauty Life College

I started out pretty much like every other little girl, lashings of blue eyeshadow for my dancing shows when I was five, lipstick all over my one adult tooth, grinning for the camera. Good times!

We were on honeymoon when I decided I needed a new creative outlet (darling!) and that I was going to do a course in make up artistry. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t for a new career or anything. It’s simply something new, a bit different, broaden my horizons, learn something new and meet a few nice people. So I enrolled on a course in Photographic and Fashion Make Up at Wirral Met College.

Every week, I’m going to take you through what I’ve learnt, including a few hints and tips I’ve picked up, testing out some new products and just taking you on this exciting journey with me.

So here goes…

Last week was my first night so it was the usual introductions, ice breakers etc. God, don’t you just hate them! It’s like networking for work, I simply hate walking into a room and attempting to muster a relationship of some sort out of thin air with a stranger. I’m shit at it! But, I got myself into this mess I thought, so I’d better crack on with it!

There’s 17 of us on the course, all lovely, bubbly girls and we’ve all got make up in common, which is always a good ice breaker. Nothing like talking about your shade of foundation to break down those social barriers, eh? Look how pretty they all are!

Aside from learning how to do my own make up better, one of the reasons I wanted to do this course is for the professional discount! I ain’t no fool, and as soon as I heard you can get significant money off at MAC, I was sold.

We’ve got to invest in some kit as we’ll be working on new looks and themes every week on a model. But as this is only a hobby at the moment, investing in the suggested MAC kit is probably a bit silly (and trust me, it’s taking every fibre of my being to not just wack it on a credit card and worry about it later!). The suggest kit is a total dream, like dream. I died when I saw it and I reaaaalllllly want it for my own.

But for now, I think I’m going to stock up on Real Techniques and Make Up Revolution to tide me over. What do you think of these brands? Are there any other affordable ones you would suggest for my kit?

Every week, we’ll be working on a new look, from bridal make up and day time looks through to smokey eyes and fantasy make up. And everything will culminate in a big show case the college puts on at the end of the year.

I’m genuinely so excited to get started and share all my new skills with you guys. What looks would you like to see? Are you studying to be a make up artist? Let me know your experiences of college in the comments section.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

