//LA Lux Beauty// MY MAC PRO STUDENT KIT

So you know in my post about my make up course I said I wasn’t going to buy the MAC kit…

Well, I lied. I totally bought it. And it’s amazing!

Don’t get me wrong, I had the best intentions and even went into Boots, armed with my Advantage Card and as many money-off codes as Boots could give me. But it was too overwhelming – there was too much choice, too many things I could buy, and what if they weren’t right? So I did a very un-Lauren like thing…I threw money at the situation! And it was a lot of money, but do you know what, money well spent. And I got the Pro discount 🙂

So, wana see what’s in my professional kit? This is the MAC Pro Student Kit 2. Whilst you can buy all the products separately, you buy this kit in its entirety as a Student MUA. 

In the kit you get five foundations. That’s nearly half a litre of foundation! I received three Face and Body Foundations in C1C3 and N9 (on the left) and two Studio Sculpt Foundations in NC15 and NW25 (on the right). 

(l-r) Face and Body Foundation in C1, C3 and N9. Studio Sculpt Foundation in NC15 and NW25
(l-r) Face and Body Foundation in C1, C3 and N9. Studio Sculpt Foundation in NC15 and NW25

The Face and Body Foundation is a cult MAC product but I hear mixed reviews. Having never used it myself, I’m yet to form an opinion but its a very thin consistency, which whilst may be a bit difficult to work with, will be gorgeous for those with lovely clear skin who want a light coverage. The dark N9 colour will be great for mixing in, should a client require something a bit deeper. The Studio Sculpt is a much thicker consistency and probably more what I’m used to. I’m excited to try them all! 

Next up, a Pro Conceal and Correct Palette in Medium. This is going to be the perfect piece of kit not only for extra coverage on blemishes, redness or dark circles, but looks like one or two colours could be great for subtle contouring. I’ll let you know how I get on. 

Pro Concealer Palatte in Medium
Pro Concealer Palatte in Medium

To finish off base make up, I received a Prep and Prime Finishing Powder. This is milled so finely, it’s like air. I sometimes find some powders make your face look really flat and you lose all dimension to your features. I’m hoping this is different. It’s translucent so don’t be scared by the stark white colour!

Prep and Prime Translucent Powder by MAC
Prep and Prime Translucent Powder by MAC

Moving on to cheeks – I got two Pro Palatte Blushes in Melba (right) and Blushbaby. I. Die. Melba looks like it may make its way into my own make up bag! My every day blusher is the Sheertone Blush in Sincere from MAC, but this looks like a gorgeous alternative. Possibly something more suitable for spring with its very peachy tone, but still lovely.

Pro Palette Blushes in Blushbaby (left) and Melba
Pro Palette Blushes in Blushbaby (left) and Melba

For lips I got some real gems! Two Pro Lip Palettes in Editorial Reds and Preferred Pinks. The red shades are so bloody lush and contain my favourite MAC shades, Lady Danger and Ruby Woo . The hot pink Show Orchid shade in the Preferred Pinks is going to be a complete winner too!

Lip Palettes in Editorial Reds and Preferred Pinks
Lip Palettes in Editorial Reds and Preferred Pinks

I also received two Lip Pencils in Cherry, a gorgeous red and Spice. Spice is an absolute staple – everyone must own one. It’s the perfect ‘your lips but better’ colour and would look gorgeous put all over the lips with just a slick of lip balm. 

Lip Liners in Cherry and Spice by MAC
Lip Liners in Cherry and Spice by MAC

Now for eyes. The kit came with two Eye Brow Pencils, in Stud and Lingering. For a girl who loves her some brows, these are devine. I currently use the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Pomade in Dark Brown which is a must in everyone’s make up bag (don’t be put off by the price, it will last 100 years! Get yourself a decent brush though!) but these pencils are perfect when you are looking for a slightly more subtle look (I don’t really do subtle when it comes to brows but I’m prepared to experiment!). The nib is so fine on the pencil, I’m expecting a super defined finish from these bad boys. 

(top to bottom) Eyeliner in Feline, Eye Brow Pencils in Stud and Lingering
(top to bottom) Eyeliner in Feline, Eye Brow Pencils in Stud and Lingering

The Eye Pencil in Feline is so soft, it’s like butter. But when I swatched it on my arm, it wasn’t going any where; great staying power. Black liner in your water line is a must for a really polished smokey eye look in my opinion, especially if you’re wearing flash lashes. Speaking of black liner, I also got my hands on a Fluidline gel eyeliner in (pictured below), BOOM! This stuff is boss! I used it on my friend Helen to create a super feline flick and it’s so easy to work with and goes on a dream. 

Fluidline in Blacktrack by MAC
Fluidline in Blacktrack by MAC

Haute and Naughty Lash mascara looks gorgeous in the tube with it’s pink glittery lid but the formula is a bit meh and the brush is bog standard. No where near as good as the Maybelline Lash Sensational I’m using at then moment. By far the weak link in this kit. 

Haute and Naughty Lash by MAC
Haute and Naughty Lash by MAC

So, I saved the best for last. I got ten, yep ten, Pro Palatte Eyeshadows, plus the magnetic pallete that fits them all in. AMAZING! I am so excited to get stuck into these little gems. I got a mixture of colours – you don’t get to choose unfortunately, they come as standard in the kit – and they’re a mixture of shimmers and mattes. They are (top row, l-r) Shroom, Omega, Satin Taupe, Embark, Brun, (bottom row, l-r) Deep Truth, Plum Dressing, Da Bling, Amber Lights and Carbon. Don’t just love the way they name the colours! I’m already in love with Omega, a perfect crease colour and one for every day use and Shroom is a beautiful highlight for your brow bone or the inner corner of your eye. Amber Lights sets my world on fire! It’s the most beautiful, pigmented gold shadow. Deep Truth is a curve ball colour, I’m not sure when I’m going to use it, although I think if I invest in a Sealing Gel from Illamasqua, it’ll turn into a gorgeous liner for your bottom lashes. 

(top l-r) Shroom, Omega, Satin Taupe, Embark, Brun (bottom l-r) Deep Truth, Plum Dressing, Da Bling, Amber Lights, Carbon by MAC
(top l-r) Shroom, Omega, Satin Taupe, Embark, Brun (bottom l-r) Deep Truth, Plum Dressing, Da Bling, Amber Lights, Carbon by MAC

And that’s it! There you have it. I’m so excited to start using this kit on my course and really get to grips with the products. What do you think? Do you have any of these products? What do you think? And do let me know if there’s anything else you think I absolutely must have!

PS: I’m looking for models for my course, so if you fancy me trying some of this kit out on you, get in touch via Facebook, Twitter or drop me an email. 

 

Leave a Reply

