//La Lux Life// LAKE DISTRICT ROAD TRIP

I bloody love an impromptu road trip. Our little island that is the UK has so many brilliant areas to explore, whilst I’m all for flying further afield, there’s nothing quite like a holiday at home.  

My lovely friend Helen and I took a little trip up to the Lake District this weekend, just for a night, but it so was lovely. The Lake District has a very special place in my heart; my family and I lived there for four years when my brother was born and it was a wonderful place to grow up.  

We headed up on Friday night, complete with a tonne of snacks. The journey is sometimes the best bit and we were blasting out 90’s one hit wonders all the way! Anyone remember 3LW? 

We arrived into Cockermouth (yep, that’s really what it’s called.) about 8.30. My parents still own the house I grew up in; it’s an upside down house, with the lounge and kitchen upstairs and the bedrooms downstairs, a fact I was very proud of as a child. I love this house.  

We headed out for a bit of tea (a rather lovely Indian called The Spice Club and we went for the vegetarian set menu which was so yummy!) and then headed off to the pub to meet some of my oldest friends, Lucy and Sophie. Cockers is a pretty small town so you can literally stumble from pub to pub, it’s brilliant. 

I love coming back to Cockers, you always bump into someone you know. A couple of mum and dads old friends were in the pub too and it was boss to catch up with Lucy and Soph. Lucy and her Jack are engaged and Sophie and Liam got married the week after me, so there was lots of wedding talk. It was so lovely to introduce Helen to everyone. 

Cockers in a gorgeous little town and since the river burst its banks about seven years ago, literally devastating most parts of the town, including my mum and dad’s house which is right by the river, a lot of time and money has been spent getting it back to its best. And it really is lovely, with some nice little shops and restaurants and plenty of pubs serving Jennings Bitter, which is brewed just up the road from where we lived.

On Saturday morning, we headed south and to Skelwith Bridge for a walk. God it was gorgeous! Helen was kitted out with first aid kits, zip off trousers and foil blankets so I think she may have been disappointed it was an easy three mile stroll along the river. We ended up at Chesters By The River, a gorgeous cafe and shop with the most amazing cake, and we sat outside in the sunshine, people watching and discussing our favourite type of crisps (Tomato Weetos and Salt and Vinegar Squares). Me and Helz have really deep chats.

From the Wirral, the Lake District is about two hours door to door if you were heading to Windemere in the South Lakes (Cockers and the North Lakes is another hour of so from there) so there’s no excuse not to go more often. I’m definitely going to try and head up there every once in a while. It’s a great day trip or if you wanted to make more of it, I love Air B&B for finding super cheap places to stay. I’d recommend just finding yourself a great cafe and whiling away the hours or a boat trip on Windermere or any of the other beeeeautiful lakes. Autumn shows the Lake District off in all its glory, so why not head up there for a weekend before we’re plunged into the darkness of winter? 

Where’s your favourite place to go on a road trip? And more importantly, what are your favourite crisps? I’d love for you to tell me in the comments below.  

 

One thought on “//La Lux Life// LAKE DISTRICT ROAD TRIP

  1. So glad you and Helen enjoyed Cockermouth. It is a really special place and hold loads of wonderful memories for us all. Lauren, remember Cockermouth Carnival and you as the Fairy Princess with Lucy in your hand made princess gowns made by me and Elaine, riding in a horse and cart. Just one of many happy memories . Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

