//La Lux Beauty// REVIEW URBAN DECAY VICE 4 PALETTE

What a treat it was to be invited to the Urban Decay counter in Debenhams, Chester to test out their gorgeous new palette.

No make up. No filter. Eek! No make up. No filter. Eek!

The counter was super busy when I arrived with loads of girls getting ready for Halloween parties and general Saturday nights out, but never the less the lovely team were really quick to say hello and I got a lovely big kiss and a hug from manager Anne.

I didn’t waste any time in getting my hands on the Vice 4. At £43, on the face it, one might wince a little at the price. But with that working out at just £2.15 per eyeshadow, not to mention the gorgeous vanity case it comes with and the double ended brush included in the palette, it’s pretty good value.

Vice 4 by Urban Decay Vice 4 by Urban Decay

The Vice palettes are a bit of a cult product for Urban Decay. A new colour range is released every Christmas and once they’re gone, they’re gone, with the colours not being released as singles. So if you like the look of any of these shades, I’d suggest moving fast.

Anne prepped my face using the gorgeous B6 spray. This prep spray is perfect for oily skin like mine, tightening up your pores and setting your make up for hours. She then primed my lids with the legendary Primer Potion, which is THE go-to eye primer and is now top of my Christmas list.

The beauty of the Vice 4 is the number of looks you can create with one palette. For your holidays, there are the blues and greens which would look divine with a tan. The pinks would be perfect for a pop of colour on date night and the nude tones are just right for every day.

Discreet (third row, far left), Bitter (fourth row, far left), Delete (fourth row, far right), Crowbar (fourth row, second from right), Flame (fourth row, second from left) Discreet (third row, far left), Bitter (fourth row, far left), Delete (fourth row, far right), Crowbar (fourth row, second from right), Flame (fourth row, second from left)

Anne used Discreet (a warm stone colour) and Bitter (a deep orange tone) on my crease. She then defined my outter lid with Delete (a cool toned brown) before adding some depth with Crowbar (a gorgeous green, gold which whilst a stunning colour had some fall out issues on my cheeks) which she also took under my lower lashes. She finished off my lids with a pop of Flame, a beautiful shimmery orange, something I wouldn’t ordinarily go near, so it was great to try it out. For a bit of extra sparkle, she dabbed Moondust Eyeshadow in Diamond Dog (that’s me!) on the lid.

Moondust Eyeshadow in Diamond Dog Moondust Eyeshadow in Diamond Dog

She finished off the eye look with one of UD’s legendary 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencils in Perversion. For my lashes, she coated them in a layer of Subversion Lash Primer. I can’t honestly say I would ever invest in a lash primer but if you’re into that thick, spidery look with your lashes (and many people are), this would defo help you get that. I’m not one for spidery lashes but I actually did love the effect. A good coat of Perversion Mascara and my eyes were done.

For base, I used the gorgeous Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Make Up (try saying that drunk!) in 3.5 and cheeks was After Glow 8 Hour Powder in Score. I finished off my eyebrows with my usual staple, Anastasia Beverly Hills Dip Brow in Dark Brown.

Ta da! What a difference a full face of slap makes! Ta da! What a difference a full face of slap makes!

But back to the palette. I loved the look Anne created with it and I can see the possibilities are endless. If you’re a seasoned pro or really experimental with your eye make up, it’s a must. Or if you’re looking for one palette that has it all. For those of you a little more cautious or just starting out with your palette collection, I would suggest sticking with the stunning Urban Decay Naked palettes, which are a must in everyone’s collection. A must, I tell you.

How gorgeous is that glitter? How gorgeous is that glitter? So pretty (the make up, not the angle!) So pretty (the make up, not the angle!)

The lovely girls (Anne, Alex, Rachel and Tiffany) on the Urban Decay counter also do complimentary eye or skin looks, as well as full make overs, with the cost redeemable off your purchases. So if you do fancy investing in the Vice 4 or any of Urbans Decay’s mouth-watering stuff, definitely book yourself into see them in Debenhams in Chester before a big night out.

It’s probably worth me mentioning that, whilst it pains me, I don’t put any filters on my photos when I do make up shots (and please do excuse some of the photography, lots to learn still!) because I want you guys to see exactly how it looks. I do however use a fabulous light up mirror from No 7 at Boots if natural light is a bit meh, as it is at this time of year.

So, what do you think? Are you legging it to Chester to grab yourself a palette or running for the hills with all those bright colours? I loved it, but I’d love to know your thoughts in the comments below.

Thank you to Anne and her team. See you soon girls!

PS: I have not been paid by Urban Decay for my opinion, this is all my own!

2 thoughts on “//La Lux Beauty// REVIEW URBAN DECAY VICE 4 PALETTE

  1. Great write -up Lauren! Your eyes and eyebrows look fab. Holly has already zoomed in on this palette and is texting Father Christmas as we speak! She has all the other Vice palettes so it’s a bit of a Christmas tradition. Keep up the good work xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

