//La Lux Fashion// MY FAVOURITE CHRISTMAS OUTFITS

It’s been a while since I wrote a fashion post on La Lux. But what better time of year to get back into the fashion swing than Christmas.

My work Christmas party dress from And Other Stories
My work Christmas party dress from And Other Stories

Now, I’m not the most festive person in the world. In fact, I don’t really love Christmas that much (I know, lock me up and throw away the key for being such a Scrooge!) but one thing I do love about this time of year is investing in one (or several!) new outfits. I thought I’d share a couple of my recent festive purchases with you; perhaps it’ll give you a bit of inspiration for all the upcoming celebrations you’re no doubt going to.

First up is my favourite outfit I’ve worn so far in December. I bought this stunning wine-red open-back dress from And Other Stories. This is a brand I’m really new to, but during my recent trip to London, I walked past the store on Regent Street and I was like a moth to a flame! This store is just full of the most beautiful, simple, streamlined pieces in muted colours, sophisticated fabrics and subtle prints. It’s divine. I adore the length of this dress and the little details like the buttons at the back and the pleats in the skirt. And the colour is my total favourite, I’m really drawn to it at the moment. I wore this to my work’s Christmas party on Friday and got lots of lovely compliments. I teamed it with my trusted favourites; my Kate Spade clutch and Aldo nude strappy heels (the glow stick round my wrist was a gift from my colleague!). I also wore a gorgeous pair of bargain 50p art deco earrings from Primark.

A Primark top with vintage skirt for a work event
A Primark top with vintage skirt for a work event

Next up was another work event. I threw this outfit together pretty quickly after work last week and despite my ham arm in this photo, I was pleased with how the outfit went. I teamed a high neck black silky top from Primark (I love high necks, they’re really flattering, even though I’ve got boobies!) with the most gorgeous vintage skirt I found at the Vintage Kilo Sale (a must for all vintage fans!). The skirt is so pretty, with it’s velvet flowers and waist band and little bit of a kick. Plus it has pockets. Any skirt or dress with pockets gets my full seal of approval.

My Topshop dress and H&M necklace
My Topshop dress and H&M necklace

This little strappy number from Topshop is my Christmas bargain and I wore it for a friend’s birthday meal. After spotting it full price a few months ago, I bided my time and low and behold, it appeared on the sale rail! With a further 20% off sale items and my student discount (one of the best perks of Beauty School!), I think it was like a tenner! YEEESSS! I teamed it with a simply necklace from H&M and a full on curly blow, my must-have Christmas essential. I’ll wear this dress constantly; with a denim jacket, leather jacket, heels, flats, a polo neck in the Winter and tshirt in the Summer. An absolute wardrobe staple.

Faux leather leggings from Zara with white Miss Selfridge shirt and Urban Outfitters shoes
Faux leather leggings from Zara with white Miss Selfridge shirt and Urban Outfitters shoes

For drinks in Liverpool at the start of the month, I went for the rock chick look. I’d been looking for a new pair of leggings since my trustee, suck-you-in-in-all-the-right-places pair bit the dust. When I saw this faux leather pair in Zara, I thought they’re fun, they’re different, but can I pull off leather pants? Whether or not I pull them off is a matter of opinion, but they’re so comfy and I wear them loads. For my night out, I teamed them with a white shirt from Miss Selfridge and some gorgeous killer-heeled shoe boots from Urban Outfitters, which are real car to bar shoes. There’s a reason they’re called killer heels! The bag is a vintage number I got from eBay – it goes everywhere with me.

But despite all this, on Christmas Day itself all my attempts at being stylish will go out the window. I’ll be rocking a Christmas jumper (I’ve got an elf one this year, with a hood. BOOM!) and my elasticated eating trousers. Those leather pants won’t see the light of day till at least February, the amount I’m planning on eating!

So, what will you be wearing Christmas Day? Do you go comfy like me or pull out all the stops and get dressed up? What do you think of the outfits I’ve been wearing? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

 

Leave a Reply

