//La Lux Fashion + Beauty + Life + Love// STUFF I’M LOVING IN JANUARY

I’ve been reluctant to have a regular feature on La Lux as I’ve been concerned it’ll put pressure on me to blog about certain things at certain times, rather than whatever takes my fancy.

But there is just so much stuff I’ve really enjoyed using/reading/wearing this month , I really wanted to share them with you guys incase you’re looking for some recommendations over the next few weeks (hasn’t January been the longest month pay-wise? I am on the bones of my arse!)

So, I’m going to start a monthly feature, chatting to you about all the stuff I’m loving. I hope you enjoy!

1. GARNIER MICELLAR WATER

Garnier Micellar Water
Garnier Micellar Water

I bought a tiny one of these for my make up kit for college and fell in love. So when Mum bought me a massive one for Christmas, I was well chuffed. It’s cheap as chips, super gentle and just a great all round product. I sweep it over my face at night (I’m trying not to use really harsh products on my skin and this is perfect) and I also dip cotton buds into it to clean up my eye make up. And it’s brilliant and getting off lipstick so you don’t end up with a rashy-red ring round your gob. Defo give it a try.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, currently £3.00 from Boots

2. NIP + FAB DEEP CLEANSING FIX 

Nip+Fab Deep Cleansing Fix
Nip+Fab Deep Cleansing Fix

I really love this brand. I’ve had a few things from them and I just think it’s really nice stuff. I grabbed this in Superdrug the other day as I noticed it was massively reduced (I paid £3.95 for a massive 300ml tub! I’m afraid I think it’s back up to full price now) and thought I’d give it a try. It’s got so many uses and I’m loving using it. I massage it into my dry face to dissolve my make up and then remove it with a muslin cloth; your skin feels bloody lovely afterwards. You can also use it as a mask or rub a light layer in as a deep moisturiser at night time. If you see this in Superdrug (even full price), give it a go as it’s super versatile and will last 100 years.

NIP+FAB Deep Cleansing Fix, £7.99 from Superdrug

3. H&M HIGH WAISTED SKINNIES

H&M High Waisted Skinnies. Teamed with a top from Boohoo and Topshop heels. Please ignore the state of our back bedroom! Our house is a mega work in progress!
H&M High Waisted Skinnies. Teamed with a top from Boohoo and Topshop heels. Please ignore the state of our back bedroom! Our house is a mega work in progress!

I first bought a pair of these jeans when we were in Brussels before Christmas as we nipped into H&M because I was freezing and wanted some gloves. They were 10 Euro! I kid you not! That’s like £8! And because I’ve barely had them off my arse since, I bought two more pairs. They have lots of lovely stretch, they’re a great length, the waist is flattering and they keep their shape, even after you’ve worn them several times. I honestly would recommend them over the £50 Jamie jeans from Topshop (which I’ve sworn by for a number of years) as they’re brilliant. And £8! I’ve never found them in store at H&M but you can buy them online. Before you go spending a fortune on a new pair of jeans, please give these a try.

Skinny High Ankle Jeans, £7.99 from H&M

4. LEAN IN 15 BY JOE WICKS

Lean In 15. Guilteeeee!
Lean In 15. Guilteeeee!

One of my best friends Hannah mentioned this guy to me (mostly in the context of how fit he was and not about his fitness and nutritional knowledge) and I started following him on Instagram. I swear to god, I had never heard of him until Hannah mentioned him and then over night, he seemed to be every where. I grabbed his debut cook book when I was in Asda (it’s apparently like the best, quickest selling cookery book in the Universe ever, or something!) and Maz and I have been enjoying using it and reading about his philosophy of eating more and working out less, something we can probably all get on board with. His recipes are simple and not full of posh ingredients you’d struggle to get hold of in the Co-Op (Madeline Shaw, I’m talking to you!). I also like that it’s not faddy, it’s just a simple philosophy of eating right and moving more. I’ve been enjoying giving the recipes a go. If you’re looking for a bit of inspiration to keep yourself on the New Year health kick you no doubt started, give him a follow on social media (however, beware of Joe’s shouty videos where he calls broccoli ‘midget trees’ and hangs out of his window holding a pan. Annoying!). And the book’s only £8 so it’s worth adding it to your collection.

Lean in 15 by Joe Wicks, £7.49 on Amazon

5. GAME OF THRONES SERIES ONE AND TWO

Game of Thrones. And yes, I did squat in front of my telly taking selfies to get this shot!
Game of Thrones. And yes, I did squat in front of my telly taking selfies to get this shot!

I am really late to the party on this one, I know. But curiosity finally got the better of me when Sky showed every episode so far, pretty much back to back over Christmas. I recorded them all, much to Maz’s annoyance (for some bizarre reason, he gets really tetchy if we have less than 60% memory on the Sky box. I’m not sure if he likes to leave lots of extra space in case of some sort of television emergency!) and I’ve been ploughing my way through them. I’ll admit, nearly three series in, I’m still not 100% sure what they’re all fighting for and I can’t pronounce most of their names, but it’s dead good. I have to leave the room when a gory bit comes on (there’s a lot of them; they love a good beheading or throat slit!) but I’m getting braver. I’d say watch it, but chances are you already have and you’re thinking, Loz, come on, Game of Thrones, that’s a bit 2012! My addiction to Say Yes To The Dress means I don’t watch many boxsets, OK! I’m behind the times!

So are you loving any of this stuff in January too? What are your favourite bits and pieces over the past month? Let me know in the comments below and I’ll look forward to rounding up my February favourite for you in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

