//La Lux Beauty// CHINESE NEW YEAR INSPIRED MAKE UP LOOK

I’m homage to all the celebrations going on this weekend to celebrate the Year of the Monkey, I thought I’d talk you through an Oriental-inspired make up look.

Inspired by Chinese New Year Inspired by Chinese New Year

Featuring a heavy winged eye and super bold lip, this isn’t one for the feint-hearted but feel free to adapt it to suit your own style. But if you decide to go for it, my advice with the eyeliner is go big or go home (as the ancient Chinese proverb goes!)

1. PREP YOUR EYES

Peaches and Cream Eyeshadow Primer Peaches and Cream Eyeshadow Primer

Having already done my base and my eyebrows, I prep my eyes using Peaches and Cream Eyeshadow Primer. This is a pretty important step; your eyeliner will be all over the place without something decent for it to stick to. This stuff is pretty good; it looks like concealer and you need just a tiny bit on your lids to prime each one. I also dust a little translucent powder over my lids once it’s dry to make sure it’s sets your eyeshadow like concrete!

2. HIGHLIGHT

Peaches and Cream Pigment in Pearl Peaches and Cream Pigment in Pearl

I love Pearl pigment by Peaches and Cream; it’s got a beautiful peachey, pink shimmer to it that it so pretty and it’s great for the entire face (and even your body) for highlighting. I use a small pencil brush to pop a bit under my brow bone and in the inner corner of my eye. Little tip if you’re heading over to Peaches and Cream to grab a few of these pigments; take a mate and buy a couple of different colours each then decant them into small pots and share them. You get so much in one pot, you’ll never use it all so it’s great to share them and you get two colours for the price of one. They’re beautiful pigments, I’d definitely recommend trying them.

3. DEFINE

Peaches and Cream Pigment in Willow Peaches and Cream Pigment in Willow

Again, I used a Peaches and Cream Pigment to define my crease, this time in Willow. This is a perfect every day shade and great for creating a bit of depth to the eye. I sweep it on in circular motions with the brilliant Zoeva 231 Luxe Petite Crease Brush.

4. LINER

Eyeliner is the bain of my life. Literally. I stress more about getting the perfect eyeliner than I do about paying the mortgage! If anyone has the secret to perfect liner everytime, please tell me! But here’s my attempt! For this look, I used MAC’s Fluid Line in Black Track and the Zoeva 312 Detail Liner Brush. If you don’t have a tiny liner brush, I’d recommend heading to the Poundshop and grabbing a pack of nail art brushes for £1! You get a couple of brushes perfect for winged liner like this.

I think the trick to liner is to start small and work slowly. I start in the middle of my lid and work outwards (leaving the wing for the time being). Then go from the inner corner of my eye inwards, the meet the other line. Small strokes works better for me than attempting it in one go and lie the brush parallel to your lid and use the side of it, as opposed to the tip.

For the wing, I start from the outside and come inwards, toward the corner of my eye, meeting the end of the liner. I them draw another line from the end of the wing, towards the middle of my lid and colour in the little triangle I’ve (hopefully!) made. You won’t get it perfect but that’s what cotton buds are for; I soak mine in my trustey Garner Micellar Cleansing Water and use them to correct any mistakes to get the line as smooth as possible.

With this liner, to give it extra staying power, I use a small pencil eyeshadow brush and go over it with a black eyeshadow, like MAC’s Carbon. This helps make it extra black and sets it for the night.

5. FINISHING TOUCHES

Finishing touches including Nars Eyeliner, NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil and Make Up Geek Eyeshadow Finishing touches including Nars Eyeliner, NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil and Make Up Geek Eyeshadow

At a recent demonstration in college, our tutor was telling us about the magic of lining your top waterline (the fleshy bit under your top lashes). She was so right. With a dramatic liner like this, a black waterline adds such a punch; it tickles like hell but pain is beauty. I shut my eye and then run the pencil between my closed lids for an easy way to do it and used NARS Larger Than Life Long-Wear Eyeliner in Via Veneto.

To give the illusion of bigger, brighter eyes and make the liner pop, I used NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk on the bottom water line. This is a great product that you can also use as a highlight or primer on the eyes or lips to make colours pop over it.

Finally, in a nod to the Far East, I blended Make Up Geek Eyeshadow in Morocco into the crease and under my lower lashes. This hot orange colour is bang on for Chinese New Year and all the beautiful reds and golds of the parades. I am obsessed with warm colours like this at the moment and I just think the orange gives the look some oomph and ties in perfectly with the orange I used on my lips.

Lashings of black mascara and a pair of falsies, and your eyes are done.

6. OMBRE LIPS

When I think Chinese New Year, I think bold, loud, brash so I wanted to experiment with a super hot lip look. It was so easy to do! Firstly, I smothered my lips in lip balm to hydrate them a bit, then blotted it off. I lined my lip in MAC Lip Liner in Cherry as well as colouring in the outer corners of the lip. Then, straight from the tube, I used MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Laquer in Atomic (a gorgeous hot orange colour, almost neon) in the centre of the lips to create an ombre effect, blending back and forth with the lip liner to make the colours seamless. What do you think? I’m so happy with the effect, I’ll defo be experimenting with other colour combos.

And that’s the look! Inspired by Chinese New Year, it’s a look you can rock all year round. Here’s hoping your new make up look brings you good luck and fortune.  Gong Xi Fa Cai! (or Happy Chinese New Year!)

I’d love to know what you think of the look in the comments below and don’t forget to follow me on Instagram for some more inspiration for your make up bag (as well as general ramblings!)

It’s probably worth me saying, I use no filters or retouching on any of my photos. This is me, pores and all.

Leave a Reply

