//La Lux Fashion// MY WINTER COAT COLLECTION

This winter seems to have been going on forever. And the only silver lining I can find in this grey time of year is that it’s an excuse to wear some gorgeous warm coats.


Now, I have a bit of an obsession with charity shops (something which I’m planning on chatting about on La Lux at some point soon). This obsession has caused my winter coat collection to be somewhat more extensive than perhaps it should ordinarily be, but when you’ve got the opportunity to pay 99p for a cashmere coat, you’re gonna do it aren’t you (unless you’re completely insane!)

Read on to see my favourite pieces from my winter coat collection, where I got them and how I style them. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

1. CAMEL CASHMERE COAT

I live in this cashmere coat. Maz calls it my Del Boy coat, for obvious reasons. It’s super warm, and I just feel like I can throw it on and it always looks good (other people may disagree, Maz for one!). It’s totally battered now and the lining is shot to shit, but it’s had a bloody good innings. Especially when I tell you I paid 99p for it at a local Red Cross charity shop! I literally ran out of the shop, skipping and yelping with sheer and utter fashion glee at this unbelievable purchase!

I wear this coat with pretty much everything, but my staple is a pair of skinny jeans, these brown leather Chelsea boots (another charity shop purchase) and my massive Michael Kors handbag. When I’m in the mood, I also throw on my favourite teal fedora from Marks and Spencer (let’s face it, the hats a bit wanky but how I love it!). Boom.

2. RED VINTAGE COLLARED COAT

This is my most recent charity shop purchase from Wirral Hospice St John’s in Claughton and I think was the grand total of £3.50. It’s a vintage St Michael’s (Marks and Spencer’s key brand in the 80’s) and apart from a little hole in the cuff, is in beautiful condition. I was drawn to the gorgeous bright red colour, despite the fact I look like Father Christmas in it. The collar is huge and bit of a weird one; I tend to flip it up at the back, Dick Tracey-style.

Being a shorter style and a little more refined, I sling this on over my vintage leather pencil skirt with a pair of heels, these block heeled ankle boots are from Boohoo. Everyone loves a lady in red!

3. BRIGHT GREEN FULL LENGTH COAT


God, I love this bad boy! It’s just so massive and snugly and such a super fun colour. It literally brightens up even the most disgusting of winter days. This was one of my more expensive charity shop purchases at £16 from the British Heart Foundation in Liverpool city centre (I think Mum bought it for me, so big up Mum for that!). It’s got a really boxy shape and is super long for extra cold days so it’s a real favourite of mine.

I love to throw in on with this gorgeous gypsy-print scarf from H&M. I think it really picks up the colours of the coat and if you’re going to wear a massive green coat, you may as well go all out with the colour.

4. BOTTLE GREEN PUFFER JACKET FROM NEXT


This is my casual, ‘I’m not trying to be all fashion-y’ jacket which I chuck on for walks and dashing around. Everyone’s got to have one. I don’t understand these magazine articles about being fashionable when you take your dog out for a walk, or run to get milk. Ain’t no body got time for that. Having said, I really like this coat and think it looks pretty good, even for something so practical. It’s got a massive hood you can remove, which comes in handy, and it got humped around the world on honeymoon with me so has been worn to death. One major snag is the high collar means it gets covered in make up so I often wear it with my big black knitted snood to protect it from the gross-ness of my foundation smeared arcross it.

I throw this jacket on with my baggy Mom jeans from Urban Outfitters and my trusty Nike Air Max.

Whilst I love my coats, I’m super excited for spring and to wear a few lighter pieces, which no doubt I’ll be showing you in an upcoming post.

For now, I’d love to hear your thoughts on my collection, which is your favourite? Do you have any suggestions for how I could wear them? I’d love to know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

