//La Lux Life// MY BIRTHDAY TRIP TO NYC

Now as birthday presents go, this has got to be up there!  


Three weeks ago, Maz surprised me by telling me he was taking me away for my 30th birthday…to bloody New York City! And not just that, Boston as well! To say I was excited was an understatement! I was bloody beside myself. I honestly feel like the luckiest girl in the world to have been taken on this trip. Just amazing! 

I thought I’d share with you just a few of the highlights from our week in the States as well as a few tips incase you’re lucky enough to be going yourself any time soon.  


We spent our first day exploring Brooklyn, Downtown and the Westside on a couple of Citi Bikes – New York’s equivalent to a Boris Bike. Maz and I love hiring bikes when we go away, it’s such a fun way to explore. These are super easy and dead cheap, as long as you keep each ride under 30 minutes, it’s just $10 for 24 hours hire. We’d cycle for half an hour or so, then pop the bikes into one of the hundreds of bases and have a coffee or explore on foot before getting another bike out. We cycled for miles up the banks of the Hudson, it’s a brilliant way to get around.  

We loved hanging out in Little Italy and found some amazing places to eat. I implore you, if you are in New York, do not eat at a chain restaurant! The place is a Mecca for good food and with your Subway Metro Card, nowhere is too far away. We discovered Ruby’s on Mulberry Street, a tiny little cafe with wooden benches, huge bowls of pasta and wine in cups. So much fun. 


We also feasted on the most amazing sushi in Mikaku on Kenmare Street, which was so fresh it was practically blinking at us. 


We also discovered some fabulous places in the East Village, including a delicious French toast at Mudspot. I’d highly recommend doing a quick Google search before you head out for dinner and see what takes your fancy and read a few reviews. There are so many places to choose from, it can be pretty overwhelming and it’s easy to stick with what you know! And if all else fails, the 99c pizza slices on Times Sqaure is pretty good!


Going up the Rockefeller Centre was a really special moment. We skipped the crowds at the Top Of the Rock (and the $32 entry fee) and went for champagne in the stunning Art Deco 65 at the Rainbow Room bar, which has equally breath taking views without the tourists and their selfie sticks! Whether it’s your first or your 50th time in New York, you must go here, this view will never get old.


You might think visiting the 9/11 Memorial Museum a little macabre but I thought it was wonderful. It’s so sensitively and thoughtfully done. Everyone has their own story from that day and I found it both amazingly fascinating and incredibly moving how it has all been put together. I really would recommend visiting it if you’re in New York; it’s a stunning legacy for the city.  We also visited the Natiral History Museum which we really enjoyed, until I threw a hissy fit because we’d been in there so long and I couldn’t find an exit and felt claustrophobic. It wouldn’t be a Luxton trip without a minor wobbly! 


There is so much more to tell you about our trip (Boston is probably a whole other blog post!) and quite frankly, you’ve got a life to lead and don’t want to be sitting around all day reading this post! But it really was just the most wonderful suprise and the most amazing trip. 

I started La Lux in the first place to try and focus on the positives in my life. It’s all too easy to get bogged down in the negatives, we all do it. But this trip made me remember how incredibly lucky I am and made me very grateful. And it’s all thanks to one very special person. Thank you Maz, I love you. 

Are you going to New York soon? Or have you been an got any top tips? I’d love to hear from you in the comments section below. 

One thought on “//La Lux Life// MY BIRTHDAY TRIP TO NYC

Leave a Reply

