//La Lux Life// MY 30TH BIRTHDAY PARTY

I’ve been really excited to turn 30.

dsc04947

I really don’t think it’s that big of a deal. Whilst I don’t ‘feel’ 30 (whatever that means!), I certainly do feel like I’ve got a bit more worldly-wise and mature in the last few years, I mean I was a bit of a dick in my early 20’s (and you were too, when you think about it, we all were!) so hopefully I’m slightly less dickish now I’ve hit the big 30. Plus, as someone once said to me, enjoy turning 30 because a lot of people don’t get the chance to. Amen to that.

dsc04950

As La Lux is all about positive thinking and focusing on the good, I thought I’d tell you all about how we celebrated my big birthday…with a fabulous party of course! This is La Lux people, only champagne and dancing will do!

dsc05250

I bloody love parties. I’ve always celebrated with a party. Partly because I love being centre of attention (it’s true, what can I say!) but mostly because I absolutely love gathering all my favourite people together. And I love dressing up.

dsc04887

Speaking of dressing up, I went through several dresses before stumbling into the rather un-me House of CB in Liverpool’s Met Quarter. There was a woman in her 40’s tottering around the rails in a mini skirt and waist-length hair extensions and I thought to myself, if she can wear one of these things, so can I! I never in a million years thought I would buy a dress like this. It was a bit, well, slutty. But I put it on and it sucked me in in all the right places and made my boobs look awesome, when quite frankly, they haven’t been awesome without a bra since I was about 18. I felt $1million in it, and when a dress makes you feel like that, you should buy it, even if it is slutty. I teamed it with my beautiful wedding shoes from Dune (these are really similar) and some massive earrings from Next. I did my own make up using Urban Decay in Solstice on my eyes and a new Sephora Perfection Airmist Foundation in Medium. My lips was Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bow and Arrow.

The dress code was black tie and everyone looked so amazing. I really appreciated all the effort everyone went to and it really added to the evening, I think everyone felt quite special.

dsc04879

My mother bravely slaved over 400 canapes on the day and everyone enjoyed smoked salmon bellinis, spicy meatballs in onion chutney and mini burshetta with sundried tomatoes. All of this was washed down with a ridiculous amount of Prosecco. Good times.

dsc05082

The party was held at the rather grand Royal Mersey Yacht Club. Whilst not situated in the most salubrious of areas, it’s a beautiful old building with so much charm and was just perfect. We decorated the room with a tonne of fairy lights and candles. It really doesn’t take much to make the room look extra beautiful. I bought the super-cool ‘Happy Birthday’ balloon banner for a gorgeous little shop in Spitalfields Market in London called, Source.  Adding some glittery pin wheels I bought in the sale (they’re Christmas decorations!) I think it finished everything off perfectly.

dsc04914

The night was full of laughter, dancing, hugs and kisses and fun. It was just a brilliant night. I know parties are a ball ache (and my parents certainly know it!), but getting everyone you love together is completely priceless. Whilst turning 30 isn’t too bad, one negative is I really don’t get to see the people I love too often; we all have very busy lives, jobs, children etc etc. So if I can help people get together every so often, then it’s worth doing.

dsc05027

A massive thank you must go to my parents for all their support, not just with this party, but with life in general. J and G, what would I ever do without you? You really are my most favourite people in all the world and all 30 long, old, drunk, crying, stressed years of me loves you to the end of the world. And to everyone who helped me celebrate…you know you’re ace!

dsc05182

I really hope if you’re celebrating a big birthday this year, you celebrate in style, whatever your style is. You should. After all, what’s the fucking point if you can’t celebrate life’s milestones?

I’d love to know how you’re planning on turning 18/21/30/40 whatever, please do let me know in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “//La Lux Life// MY 30TH BIRTHDAY PARTY

  1. What a great night it was. All the effort was definitely worthwhile. So lovely to see everyone having such a good time and you all looked fantastic. Thank you for your lovely words about me and Dad. You really are the best daughter any parents could wish for and we are so lucky to have you and Alastair in our lives. We are very, very lucky parents. Thank you. Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

