//La Lux Beauty// A PRINCE INSPIRED PURPLE EYE LOOK

2016 is just not the year for celebrities, is it?

img_0494

 

If I was remotely famous, I’d be locking myself in the house, away from all sharp objects and trip hazards. But, all joking aside, the news this week that the amazing, irreplaceable, man-who-is-so legendary-he-only-needs-one-name, Prince, had died at the age of 57, was a real shitter.

Now, Bowie was sad, but I wasn’t to biggest Bowie fan, a bit before my time, but Prince, now Prince was a different story. My brother and I went to see him in the O2 back in 2007 on his Earth Tour and it was single handedly the best gig I’ve ever been to. My first PR job was working on the account for his London dates and I saw him walk in a fashion show in London Fashion Week when I was interning. He held, and always will hold, a very special place in my heart and my record collection. And it wasn’t just his music that was so inspiring. Prince’s couldn’t-give-a-shit attitude to fashion meant he rocked a massive hat and a ruffled blouse in the same way he shook it up in nothing but a medallion and some serious chest hair.

In small tribute to one of my favourite musicians, I thought I’d create a purple eye look with plenty of black liner and just the tiniest of Prince-esque flicks. Just for fun. It’s pretty easy, using just four colours. I hope you enjoy.

1. PRIME YOUR EYES

img_0425

 

This is a really important step in all eye looks. Priming your eyes means the colour will be more vivid and, importantly, have more staying power. I use the Peaches and Cream Eye Shadow Primer but you could just use some concealer and set it with a bit of translucent face powder.

2. CONTOUR YOUR CREASE

img_0439

For this entire look (give or take!) I used the Morphe 35P palette. If you don’t own a Morphe palette, invest next pay day. They’re amazing value for money and this one contains a great range of browns, neautrals and purples. Gorgeous.

img_0431

I used a big fluffy brush in the crease of my eye with the lightest purple in the palette. Always start with a light colour; this is called your transition shade. Start light and build to darker colours as you go, little by little. I followed this with a slightly darker purple from the palette, going over the light purple, but not quite as high.

3. DEFINE THE OUTTER CORNER

img_0450

 

Using a small pencil brush, draw a flick with black shadow. Then blend this into the purple with your fluffy brush. Keep doing this over and over until you’ve got the look you’re after. Always go back in with your fluffy brush and keep blending until your arms fall off!

4. PACK ON THE COLOUR

 

 

img_0481

Using a small, flat brush, I packed on the vivid purple colour on the main part of my eyelid. To really give this that purple flash, I also wet the brush down with some MAC Fix+ and packed on Kiko’s Loose Pigment Eyeshadow in the colour 05. Be warned, I’m finding out the hard way, that this stuff stains your lids! Oops!

5. SMOKE IT OUT

img_0482

 

Taking your pencil brush, follow the same steps as your crease on the lower lash line, taking the light shadow under your lashes, followed by the darker, blending them both together. You can go as nuts as you like with this but just remember to keep the lines soft and blended.

6. LINER AND MASCARA

img_0513

 

I used the Topshop Liquid Liner to define my upper lashes, giving a tiny little Prince flick on the outter corner of each eye. Prince would never be without his eyeliner, so I also used MAC Eyeliner in Feline in my waterline on both my top and bottom lashes. I slapped on a shit tonne of mascara; I’m using a new one from Rimmel called Wonder’ful in Extreme Black. It’s pretty good, but I’ve only used it twice so I’ll let you know how it fairs.

 

To finish my purple theme, I used MAC Lipstick in Violetta.

And that, my lovely readers, is my Prince inspired, Purple Rain of a make up look. I hope you like it. I’m off to sing Kiss in the bath, ala Pretty Woman.

Are you a Prince fan? What’s your all time favourite track or memory from The Artist?

Leave a Reply

