//La Lux Life// GRADUATING BEAUTY SCHOOL

If you’ve been reading La Lux for a while, you’ll know that as I was starting out on my blogging journey, I also started on another journey.

13394198_1774528566138084_6459748639758099863_n

 

I’ve always loved make up. It helps that I have a massive head because it means there’s a lot of face to actually apply make up to!ย And once Maz and I had got married and our wedding was over, I really missed the creative side of wedding planning, so coupled with my love of lipsticks and shadows and liners (oh my!), I took up a course at my local college to become an MUA (that’s poncy speak for Make Up Artist! I hate it when people put it after their name though! It’s a profession, you’ve not a member of the Queen’s Order!)

And this week, after nearly a full year of blending till our fingers bled, battling with false eyelashes and being constantly covered in glitter, my course mates and I finally became full blown level three Make Up Artists. Eeeek!

To celebrate, we held a Graduation Gala (if you like!), where we all showed off our skills to family and friends in a catwalk show a few weeks ago.

 

13428594_10156984833480153_4125397174707186613_n

The theme was Wonders of the World so the looks needed to be creative and theatrical, not the sort of thing you’re going to pop to the shops wearing! It was a super fun brief and I think, despite the moaning, everyone loved the challenge!

The reason I wanted to write a post about the gala though, was not to wax lyrical about the ins and outs of people’s make up looks, but to say that the evening was just so full of positivity, love and support, it really blew me away. Every one of the girls I’ve trained with were so supportive of each other, on the night and in the run up, giving advice, tips, stepping in as each other’s models and just generally really boosting each other up. It was a pleasure to be a part of it last week and so wonderful to see 17 girls who twelve months ago were strangers, and now were really supporting each other.

13442466_10153666502522592_5762684869143501481_o

 

Not only that, I was overwhelmed at my family and friends coming out to support me, because, quite frankly, this was a major indulgence of mine to even do this course in the first place. But my friends and family have been so wonderful, always telling me what I needed to hear, lending me their faces whenever I’ve needed them (no matter how mental the look I was briefed to create!) and picking me up when I’ve had an attack of confidence. And all the other girls had the same support from their families. The love in the room was electric and everyone was rooting for each other.

img_1200

 

I suppose the point of my ramblings is to thank everyone who has been involved in this for everything. I’ve learnt a lot (there is still a huge way to go!) and loved bringing out my creative side once again. It’s also to say to you, my reader, just fucking go for it. Don’t let your life boil down to work, eat, bed (something that happens to us all at times!), go out and do something with your day to day life, especially something you feel passionate about. Please don’t let time, money or anything else get in the way; there is always a way. It’s been so great to indulge in a passion of mine and learn a new skill, I’d recommend it to anyone. It’s good for the soul.

 

I heard someone recently explain they were looking forward to living in the moment. The way we’re all feeling, now more than ever, why do you have to wait to do that? It doesn’t have to be the profound, monumental moments we live in, the every day ones are fine too. If you’ve got something you’re passionate about doing, please don’t wait until the time is right to live in the moment, just start doing it now.

I promise, you won’t regret it.

One thought on “//La Lux Life// GRADUATING BEAUTY SCHOOL

  1. Well done Lauren and Congratulations on qualifying as a MUA! The hard work, blood , sweat and tears has all paid off๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    Like

Leave a Reply

