//La Lux Beauty// MY (CURRENT) FAVOURITE SKINCARE ITEMS

I wasn’t lucky enough to be blessed with baby skin.

img_2572

Far from in. In fact, for most of my teenage years and well into my twenties I was plagued with the most terrible acne, to the point where I went on the strongest medication known the man.

Whilst that cleared it up pretty well (a drug so strong at drying out your oily, spotty skin even your scalp doesn’t get oily and you don’t need to wash your hair for ten days straight has got to be good!), I still have to contend with the odd skin nightmare. One good thing about having such oily skin as a teen, now I’m in my thirties, I’m not too worried about wrinkles!

I thought I’d give you the low down on some of the skincare items I’ve been using for a few weeks. Some I love and have bought again, some I’m still on the fence about and might not be too bothered when they run out. If you have oily skin like me, you may well want to give them a go. If not, you might just fancy a noisy anyway! Enjoy.

1. LIZ EARLE CLEANSE AND POLISH HOT CLOTH CLEANSER

I’ve been bought this twice as a present, which is really lucky because to be honest, I love it so much, I’d buy it anyway! My favourite products at the moment are ones that you use whilst your face is dry; just rub them into a dry face, makeup and all, and melt it all away. This gorgeous cleanser has eucalyptus and lavender in it, it smells glorious and dissolves beautifully into the skin. You also get two muslin cloths with the cleanser which you use to exfoliate and take all the product off, leaving bright, glowy skin underneath.

One pump is plenty which means for £14, whilst a little bit of an outlay, this will last you ages. My one criticism? The bottle doesn’t have a clear section so you can see how much you’ve got left so you’re taken a bit unawares when you get to the end. And it’s devastating to have to wait 3-5 days for your next one to be delivered!

(PS: I’m so sorry I don’t have an image of this product. I stupidly chucked the empty bottle away and forgot to take a pic! Bad blogger!)

Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser, £14, Boots. 

2. L’OREAL PARIS EXTRAORDINARY OIL CLEANSING OIL

img_2567

Yes you read that right. The girl with oily skin loves her facial oil!

In case you’re not a regular reader of La Lux, I’ll let you in on some gos. I love make up. And I wear quite a bit of it. And this stuff gets it completely off. The most pigmented of lipstick is no match for this bad boy! I also use it as a bit of hand wash, to get all the swatches and testers of eyeliner from the back of my hands.

It doesn’t leave any kind of film on your face and certainly hasn’t aggravated my spot-prone skin. Once I’ve used this and rinsed it off, I swipe over my face with a bit of micellar water and it comes back really clear. It’s often on offer in Superdrug or Boots (I think my latest bottle was just over £5) so it’s definitely worth trying for a quick, make up removing fix.

L’Oreal Extraordinary Oil Cleansing Oil, £7.99, Boots (It’s currently on offer so you can save a third!)

3. NIP + FAB GLYCOLIC FIX SERUM

img_2570-1

If something has glycolic acid in it, I’m interested. It’s a natural exfoliant and having had so many skin problem in the past, getting glowing skin is a bit of a challenge for me. I also find some of the harsh exfoliants you can get, with beads and scrubs in it, just arn’t gentle enough for my sensitive mush.

I apply this stuff at night to my T zone – down my nose, the middle of my forehead and my chin. It’s just brightened the area and really tightened my pores around my nose. It’s a little sticky once you’ve applied it, one of the reasons I keep it just to selected areas of my face.

If you’ve got enlarged pores or just want something gentle to exfoliate whilst you sleep, I’ve been enjoying using this.

Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Serum, £14.95, Boots

4. L’OREAL PARIS PURE CLAY DETOX MASK

img_2568

You probably saw these things all over the place when they first came out. L’Oreal brought three out in the range, one to detox, one to mattify and one to brighten, and they were all weird colours. The company were encouraging you to multimask and use different masks on different area of your face to target various problems. Not a bad idea really and as they were on offer at £5 a mask, not too much of a financial ask. They’re a lovely product and beautifully packaged so definitely worth a fiver (now they’ve been around a few months, they’re up to £7.99 so not so much of a bargain.)

I got the detox one which is jet black. Like coal black. And it’s so much fun to use. Once it’s on your face, you really see it pulling out all the nasties around your nose and cheeks and it dries super quick so it’s a great quick fix in the mornings or before you put a full face of make up on.

img_2569

The draw back? It’s messy! Being in a jar means you’ve got to dig it out with your fingers to it can get all under your nails (which grosses me out!) and it’s a bugger to get off! You flick black water all over the bathroom! I’d recommend taking it off with a muslin cloth or flannel, but if you do, be prepared to kiss goodbye to a lovely white cloth as it will stain them to high heaven!

L’Oreal Paris Pure Clay Detox Mask, £7.99, Boots

5. MAC PREP + PRIME FIX +

img_2571

I really need to curb my addiction to this stuff (as you can see from how much is left in the bottle!). Whilst it looks a bit like water and smells a bit like water (only nicer!), it most certainly ain’t water. Well, it might be, but at over £17 a bottle, you’d hope not!

This is a cult product; no doubt I’m not the first person to tell you about it. It’s packed full of glycerine, which is what you want to keep your make up in place all. Day. Long. I look up and spray this all over my face from a height once I’ve applied my moisturiser and primer and before my foundation. Then I give my face a good slog with it once my make up is finished to set it and take away any powdery-ness or flatness to my face. See now why I need to curb it? I use so much for one face of make up!

But it’s a gorgeous product that really refreshes the skin and works wonders at keeping your make up place. As far as I’m concerned, it’s worth the investment.

Mac Prep + Prime Fix +, £17.50, MAC stand alone stores, counters and online.

As the weather turns, I’m always looking for new products to prep up my tired skin. I’d love to hear your recommendations, just let me know in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

