//La Lux Fashion// WHAT I WORE TO WEDDING WEEK

Well, this has been quite the past ten days!

IMG_1949

Maz and I have been lucky enough to attend not one, not two, but three truly beautiful weddings in a week, celebrating such special days with some of our closest friends and families.

And whilst I’m completely exhausted and looking forward to choosing my own evening meal again, we’ve loved every minute of it. So, with only one more wedding of 2016 left, I thought I’d do a round up of the outfits I wore for the week I’ve nick-named ‘Wedding Week’ (cleever eh?) in case you need some inspiration for any weddings or special events you’ve got coming up as the Summer draws to a close

MELLOW YELLOW

You know when you’re legging it round Marks and Spencer five minutes before it’s due to close, desperately looking for something to wear to a wedding after you realise you look a pig in your original dress, and then you spy something glorious across the aisle and know you’re going to be the best of friends? Well this bright yellow Autograph number was that!

IMG_1936

I adore Marks and Spencer and I’m not afraid to admit it. The quality is great, the cut of the clothes flawless and they’re brilliant value for money. The Autograph range in particular always catches my eye with beautiful, classic pieces that will last you season after season. I bought this dress in a panic for a wedding in June and loved it so much, I didn’t even care that I’d worn it once already (I’m usually a bit funny about recycling outfits, just in case people have seen it!). Whilst the first time around, I teamed it with a colour-clash statement hat, for Holly and Neil’s glamourous and intimate Great-Gatsby inspired day on 20th August, I teamed it with big Bardot hair (which, considering I did this myself, I was super pleased with and stayed in all day!) and a gorgeous matching necklace from Zara. My shoes, a bright tomato-red lace up heel from Marks and Spencer, are brilliant to wear all day and just had a bit more interest to what (apart from the colour) could be a bit of a simple dress.

I can’t wait to break this dress out in the Autumn with flat boots and a shirt underneath, it’s probably my favourite thing I’ve invested in for my wardrobe this Summer.

FLOWING FLORALS

IMG_1994

I had my outfits for wedding week all planned. Completely sorted and in the bag. They were all recycled from previous weddings or borrowed from a friend. But, like the yellow outfit, I ended up panic buying for two out of the three weddings!

For Suze and Jame’s beautifully traditional day wedding at the Sefton Park Palm House, I had my outfit sorted for months. But two days before the big day, I gave it an airing to discover a massive hole under the arm of the dress (clearly got too excited during Oops Upside Your Head at the last wedding I wore it too!). Fortunately, ASOS Premier came to the rescue (if you shop online and don’t have ASOS Premier, you’re completely insane!) and I had this super-cute BooHoo number on my desk less than 15 hours after I ordered it.

IMG_1990

It looked gorgeous on the model (who was 5’9″ and a size 8 but I could give it a go!) and was like nothing else in my wardrobe. It was a bit of a risky buy because I’d never worn anything like it but I really loved it and felt super special wearing it. For £25, I wasn’t expecting the best quality and I was right. The slip that came with the sheer dress was completely hideous; cheap, thin, gross! So I bought a separate body-con slip from ASOS to wear instead and was so glad I did. But whilst the quality might not have been amazing, for the money the embroidery at the bottom was so gorgeous and allowed me to play around with my make up and wear a bright lip and earrings. I styled the dress with a belt to give my none-existent waist some shape and a pair of killer (literally, killer! They kill me!) black heels from Primark.

FEELING BLUE

IMG_2045

For Chrissy and Mat’s magical wedding in Chester, I actually followed through with an outfit and didn’t need to panic buy at the last minute. This beautiful lace number from Whistles was kindly loaned from a friend and has had it’s fair share of wedding outings this Summer as loads of our group has worn it. But it’s still going strong.

The cut on this dress is amazing and justifies why Whistle’s has a higher price point than your average high-street store. This royal blue number sucked you in in all the right places, adding a little tease of skin with sheer panels around the waist and legs. It had the most beautiful pleats around the waist which gave it such a fun ‘poof’ and was perfect for twirling on the dance floor.

I had a bit of a mare the morning of this wedding; I think after two previous weddings, I was a bit fatigued of having to beat my mug with make up and it took three attempts to come up with a face I was pleased with, going for a bronzed, glowy look with MAC’s Woodwinked on the eyes and Urban Decay lipstick in 1993. I did a little variation on my Bardot look, keeping half down so it was a little more soft and girly with the dress. Red nails and matching blue shoes from Marks and Spencer completed the look.

So after a busy whirlwind Summer of weddings, I’m totally pooped but so delighted I got to spend so much quality time with wonderful friends and family and share in the most amazing days. Congratulations to Holly and Neil, Suze and James and Chrissy and Mat. Thank you for letting us share in your wedding days and giving me the opportunity to play dress up for three whole days this week!

Do you have any more weddings to go to this Summer? What are you wearing? Do you have any suggestions of how else I could style these outfits? Please do let me know in the comments section.

 

 

2 thoughts on “//La Lux Fashion// WHAT I WORE TO WEDDING WEEK

Leave a Reply

