//LA LUX BEAUTY// OCTOBER GLOSSYBOX REVIEW

I’ve long been tempted by the idea of a beauty box.


And there are loads out there to choose from. From £10 a month, you get a gorgeous little package every month with around 5 miniature products to try out. It’s perfect if you get stuck in a beauty rut. I finally succumbed to GlossyBox, one of the most well known brands and I thought I’d tell you about what I got in the October box and my thoughts on each product.

1. Trifle Cosmetics Lip Parfait Buttery Lip Cream.


I love the cute print on the packaging of this but I hate the cardboard tube! It makes it feel really cheap which, with an RRP of £12.95, it ain’t. On first impressions, the colour was lovely, a soft, pale nude and it certainly lived up to the term buttery as it was super soft.


But the shade was too light for me and gathered where I had dry patches on my lips. It may work over something darker to brighten it up but this might be something relegated to the back of the beauty draw!

2.  NUXE SHIMMERING DRY OIL


I’ve seen the full size of this in Marks and Spencer and always been curious by it so was delighted to get the chance to try it out. And it’s gorgeous! It’s a beautiful, bronze-toned oil that has just a tiny amount of sparkle in it. There’s no tan in it as such, just the sparkle. I applied a little to my shoulders and shins for a night out as a subtle highlight. My friend also tells me it’s gorgeous smoothed on to the face at night as a serum. This is the perfect size for my holidays too!

3. UNIVERSAL BEAUTY COSMETICS SECRET FLUSH LIP & CHEEK STAIN DUO


The packaging of this is super cute and reminds me very much of Topshop make up.


It smells lovely and the colour is really nice, a nice coral shade, so I think it will be super hand for my handbag as a quick fix when I feel like I’ve been dug up. On first impressions, it didn’t blend very well but I’ll persevere.

4. BEE GOOD HONEY AND CAMELINA FACIAL EXFOLIATOR


One of the main reasons I love GlossyBox is that it gives you so many handy travel products and this is another one. Having only used this a couple of times, I can’t tell you it’s the best exfoliator I’ve ever used but it smells yummy, is full of natural ingredients and is made in the UK, all plus points in my book.

5. PS…PRO FINISHING POWDER


This is Primark’s beauty brand. I’ve got to admit, I’ve never been tempted by it and this product won’t particularly persuade me other wise. It’s OK, quite finely milled but a bit talc-like and was quite white, I had to use it sparingly. The RRP is £5 so to be honest, there are many other similar priced face powders I’d reach for before this.

6. A NEW HAIR HERO


This is a little bonus product and another brilliant one for travelling. You don’t actually know what the product is (a brand is probably testing them out on you) but it’s claimed it their ‘biggest break through in years’. I’ve used it a few times and it’s, well, meh. How excited can you get about a shampoo? It wasn’t miraculous, in fact, I actually think it made my roots a bit in the greasy side. I won’t be legging it to the shops to buy this when they reveal what it is!

So whilst this month was a mixed bag, it’s still a lovely treat and well worth the money. They’re always doing little offers too so it’s worth a try, even for a month or as a gift or someone.

Do you subscribe to a beauty box? If so I’d love to hear which ones you recommend in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “//LA LUX BEAUTY// OCTOBER GLOSSYBOX REVIEW

Leave a Reply

