//LA LUX BEAUTY//LOOK FANTASTIC’S MAY BEAUTY BOX (PLUS GIVEAWAY!)

I’m a huge fan of a beauty box.


A simple, inexpensive way of trying out new products, who wouldn’t love a beautiful packaged little parcel of pretty landing on their doorstep every month?

If you’re not familiar with the concept, you basically pay a small monthly fee (they usual start around £12, plus postage and packaging) and every month, you get a selection of beauty products for you to sample. Most of the time they’re mini versions, although many boxes often throw in a full size treat. They can be brands you’ve heard of, one’s you haven’t, one’s you have but would never think to pick up and brands you’ve been so desperate to try, you’d have sold your own mother (not you Julie, I’d never sell you!) to get your hands on it (hello Laura Gellar Gelato Swirl Highlighter!).

You can buy a one of box, or a subscription for anywhere up to a year, with the more boxes you commit to, the cheaper they are. But if you’re a commitment-phobe, you can cancel at any time and move on to another brand of beauty box, if you’re a beauty box slut like I am!

Look Fantastic do the most fabulous monthly beauty box, with a carefully curated selection of killer products, often with a monthly theme to spark your interest. May’s theme was Get The Glow and I was lucky enough to receive one of their boxes through the post (queue delirious squealing and scrambling for my phone so I can Instragram the s**t out of it!) so I thought I’d give you a peak inside. PLUS, I’m giving one of my fabulous readers there very own Look Fantastic Get The Glow Beauty Box. Read on to find out how to get your hands on one.

  1. GLOV HYDRO DEMAQUILLAGE


Once I got over swooning from the gorgeous pinky-peach packaging and ripped open the tissue paper, this was the first thing that greeted me.

Packaged in a small, sealed pouched, I was totally perplexed as to what the Gluv was (one of the beauty’s of these boxes, some things are totally left field!). It turns out, it’s a sponge made of hyroallergenic fibres, claiming to take all your make up off, with only water. Well, it hasn’t met my face full of slap yet! But I love the concept and it’s perfect if you’re in a hurry, travelling or don’t fancy using loads of complicated lotions and potions on your face. It’s reusable up to three months too so you’ll certainly get your use from it.

2. MELLOW BAKES EYESHADOW


Now, I’ve got enough eyeshadows to open up my own shop (did you Nan ever say that to you? God, imagine that, your own shop full of eyeshadow? Goals!) but this is a beauty to add to my collection.

Hailing from New Zealand, Mellow isn’t a brand I’d heard of. But their Baked Eyeshadow, simply called Cream, has a lovely shimmer to it that would be perfect as a highlighter as well as an eyeshadow. I’ll be chucking it in my make up bag to dust across my collar bone on my holidays.

3. SCRUB LOVE HYDRATING COCONUT OIL BODY SCRUB


Coconut and cranberry is a delicious, if unusual, combination. This dense scrub comes in a hand resealable pouch and is super grainy and exfoliating.

I love a good scrub. I’m currently using a coffee scrub called Grounded, which whilst lovely to use, it so mega messy and such a faff, there’s no way I’ll be repurchasing it. This might be the answer! I love to give my thighs and the backs of my arms a good going over with a scrub, especially before a night out or if I’m fake tanning and there so much in this sample, I think it’ll last for ages. It smells good enough to eat too!

4. REAL CHEMISTRY LUMINOUS THREE MINUTE PEEL


Peel. The words every 30-something wants to read on any new beauty product.

This mask is a gentle, luxurious way to remove dead skin cells, leaving your skin glowing. Perfect to chuck into your bag for travelling and to wack on your face before a big night out whilst you’re away. You’ll probably only get a couple of applications from this little sample, but when the full sized version costs £48, you’re still looking at a tenners worth of product, right there!

5. SYSTEM PROFESSIONAL RECONSTRUCTIVE ELIXR LUXE OIL


After working out this wasn’t for my face (duh!), I’ve been dousing this gorgeous, nourishing oil all over the ends of my desperate-for-a-trim hair.

Another perfect travel size, this keeps your ends sharp and hydrated and is gorgeous to use, without leaving any residue. I also smooth it on any fly-aways when my hairs dry. I’m going to be bringing this on my holiday to give my sun-parched barnet a much needed boost whilst we’re away.

6. JAMES READ GRADUAL TAN H2O TAN MIST


I’ll admit, I haven’t got round to trying this yet, but it’s the product I’m most excited about in this box. My hero product if you will.

James Read is a gorgeous tanning brand but I had no idea you could get a tanning water! I mean, what will they think of next? Fused with rose (one of my favourite ingredients for the skin), you spritz this straight on to the face for a hint of sun-kissed colour. Magic.

I know I keep harping on about travelling, but this box really is a summer holiday essential. The Gradual Tan Mist will be perfect for the first few days of your holiday where you haven’t quite caught the sun yet, whilst keeping your skin baby soft in the sun.

So if all that has got you thinking, I need to try this box, you’re in luck! Head over to my social media channels (Facebook or Instagram) for your chance to win one of these boxes, with all these goodies (and a few sneaky extras one of which is pictured below!).


Do you invest in a monthly beauty box? Let me know which ones you think I should try? What do you think of this latest Look Fantastic offering? I’d love to know in the comments below.

 

 

Leave a Reply

