//LA LUX FASHION//STYLING UP GINGHAM

It’s one of my favourite trends at the moment and can be worn hundreds of different ways. Gingham is certainly having a moment.

DSC01348

Whether you go for a full on picnic blanket pattern or just a subtle hint on a bag or hair accessory, there are so many ways to wear it. You just have to experiment!

For this post, I collaborated with my very good friend of 13 years and the most fabulous photographer in all the North West, Paul Williams of Ginger Beard. Paul and I spent the day wandering around Manchester (and I fell back in love with the city – so many cool nooks and crannies!), drinking almond lattes, posing against brick walls and reminiscing.

Anyway, it’s thanks to his amazing talent that we’ve captured these photos. And whilst he can now add Street Style Photographer to his CV, his day job is a wedding photographer. And he’s mighty good at it. So brides to be, defo check him out! But grooms beware, you WILL get beard envy. He ain’t called Ginger Beard for nowt!

Right, on with the fashion…

COLOUR POP

DSC01327

Black and white gingham (which is pretty much my staple for this post!) is the ultimate monochrome wardrobe essential. So you can pretty much team is with whatever colour you like! And I really like a pop of pink!

I’ve lived in these bubblegum pink trousers from Primark over the past few weeks. They’re smart enough for work but look really fun with Converse hightops and a slogan tshirt for casual days.

DSC01326

This lovely cotton cold-shoulder gingham top is also from Primark. It’s a great length to tuck into whatever you’re wearing and the frill makes it super feminine. This is the perfect entry piece to the gingham trend, for £9 you can completely experiment without breaking the bank.

My shoes here are my summer staple from Office.

JUST A HINT

DSC01453

I have had so many comments on this cute tshirt from Bershka, via ASOS. If all-over gingham isn’t your thing, this white thsirt with the gingham detail across the bust might be right up your street. It ties at the back like a little crop top for added detail and just jazzes up what would otherwise be your bog-standard tshirt.

I’ve teamed it here with a mustard pleather skirt from Zara, fishnet tights I got from Ebay (the best place to buy stuff like this! I got some little fishnet socks from Ebay too for about 50p!) and my favourite silver ankle boots from River Island (I’m afraid they now only have the bronze version; perfect for Autumn though!), which I wear all year round; the metallic finish just seems to dress up so many outfits, season after season.

DSC01450

I find, because of the crop top section of this tshirt, I prefer wearing a high-waisted bottom half. It keeps the look more streamlined. So I also love to pair this tshirt with my trusty Mom Jeans from Urban Outfitters.

BOTTOMS UP

DSC01550

If you fancy being a bit more daring, a pair of gingham trousers is where it’s at. This pair are from Topshop. 

The paper-bag waistband and turn up hems are a bit of extra detail and make them perfect for the summer. I’ve complemented the cute blue gingham with a soft denim shirt from George at Asda. I like having a mooch in George whenever I do the shopping; they’ve after got a few really nice staples so it’s worth a wander.

DSC01519

These trousers are another thing I’ve worn loads this summer so far, both for work and at the weekend with sliders or trainers. I also think they’d look gorgeous with a bodysuit underneath and a pair of colour clash heels, like these ones from Office.

GO ALL OUT!

DSC01569

This jumpsuit from ASOS is Marmite. But I bloody love Marmite!

I’ve lived in this since I bought it for my holiday, even climbing up Victoria Peak in Hong Kong wearing it (massive mistake, can’t say I’d recommend wearing it in 30 degree humidity!) and I find it’s an outfit you can just throw on and feel good; with it being a jumpsuit, you don’t have to worry about matching it up with anything. Your entire outfit is sorted.

DSC01601

It’s mega comfy and flattering. And has a cute bow detail at the back (I actually wrap the ties around my bra strap to conceal it and then tie the ends, as the back is open). I’ve teamed it here with my trusty Converse for running around Manchester shooting, but I also loved wearing it with my red lace up heels from Marks and Spencer and a bright clutch when I was on a recent hen do in Amsterdam. This is my best wardrobe investment so far this summer (and it’s now just £22.50 in the sale. Buy it. Now!)

CLASHING PRINTS

DSC01610

Just because gingham can be quite busy, it doesn’t mean you can’t team it with something equally as busy, as I hope I’ve proved with this skirt and tshirt combo.

The skirt is from Missguided with the tshirt from Uniqlo (I’m afraid I can’t quite find the shirt but the top I’ve linked is similar.)

I think the trick is to keep the colour palette simple; there’s just black, white and green in this outfit. And to find a print that’s on a similar level; the stripes and gingham don’t try and shout over each other.

DSC01621

The frill detail in the skirt I love; it adds some extra interest and distracts from my tum after too much pizza!

I teamed this combo with my new favourite clouds, sorry, sliders (but they’re like walking on clouds, they’re just so comfy!), these faux leather, knotted numbers from Topshop.

Is gingham a trend you’ll be tapping in to this summer? Which is your favourite piece from the shoot? I hope you’ve been inspired for the next time you head out to the shops! I’d love to know what you think in the comments section below.

Once again, a huge thank you to my main man Paul for his wonderful skills. Hopefully the first of many collaborations…

 

Leave a Reply

